This is a good week for astrophiles, lunar fanatics, and werewolves, as the full Moon this week is going to be a special one: it will be a Mini-Moon.

On Thursday, the Moon will be at its apogee, its furthest point from Earth at more than400,000 kilometers (249,000 miles)away. The apogee will be reached at 12:06 p.m. EDT (5:06 p.m. BST) on April 21, and the full Moon will be reached at 1:25 a.m. EDT (6:25 a.m. BST) on April22.

The Mini-Moon, technically known as an apogee-syzygy of the Earth-Moon-Sun system (when all three objects align), happens because the Moon’s rotation around our planet and its phase cycle dont last the same amount time. People consider it a Mini-Moon if the apogee and full Moon happen within 24 hours of each other, andMini-Moons happen about once a year.

Mini-Moons arenot as well-known asSupermoons, which happenwhen a full Moon is atits closest approach to Earth (perigee). A Mini-Moon looks approximately 14 percent smaller and 25 to30 percent dimmer than a Supermoon.

Comparison between the 2011 Supermoon and Mini-Moon byKen_Lord via FlickrCC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Aprils full Moon is traditionally called aFull Pink Moon, namedbythe Algonquin Indiansas it is associated withmoss pink, one of the first flowering plantsof spring. The Moon will not actually change color, and no matter what you might have heard on the Internet in the past few days, it most definitely wont turn green.

For people interested in both the Mini-Moon and its role in traditional agriculture, Slooh and The Old Farmers Almanac will have a live webcast about the Pink Mini-Moon on Thursday, April 21,at 8 p.m. EDT (1 a.m. BST).

You can go toSlooh.comto join and watch this live broadcast (embedded below),snap and share your own photos during the event, chat with audience members, interact with the hosts, and personally control Sloohs telescopes.

The next Mini-Moon will be on June 9, 2017, but a rare occurrence will happen the year after when we will have a Mini-Moon featuring a lunar eclipse, whichwill occuron July 27, 2018.

Photo Gallery

Read more: http://www.iflscience.com/space/theres-going-be-mini-moon-thursday

Be Sociable, Share!